Haul The Bowline EP (II)

by The Ballina Whalers

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £6 GBP  or more


  • 'Limited Edition Handmade EP'
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Limited edition of 500 handmade, letter pressed copy of the EP with artwork by Peter Beatty. It is made with 100% recycled card and each one is assembled, glued and hand numbered by the band.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Haul The Bowline EP (II) via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out



Recorded in the rolling belly of the ‘Lightship 95’ -a floating light house moored on the Thames River in London – ‘Haul The Bowline’ is a tender and raucous collection of shanties and songs of the sea that presents a snapshot of life lived under sail, from the cotton-screwing shanty 'Fire Marengo' to heart-breaking ballad of loss 'Adieu Sweet Lovely Nancy'. While the inclusion of Stan Rogers famous ‘Northwest Passage’ shows that these same emotions of distance and the search for adventure remain as relevant today as they did all those years ago. Ahoy!


released November 29, 2013

All tracks are traditional apart from track 4 by Stan Rogers. Tracks 1, 2, 4, 5 & 6 arranged by Pete Truin, track 3 arranged by The Ballina Whalers. Recorded by Ben Philips onboard the Lightship 95, July 2013. Mixed and mastered by Greg Freeman. Artwork and design by Peter Beatty. P&C Hectic Eclectic Records 2013. HE03CD.



all rights reserved


The Ballina Whalers London, UK

The Ballina Whalers are Pete Truin, Jamie Doe and Sam Brookes - three musical barnacles clinging to the creaking hull of a musical tradition stretching back over hundreds of years. Using just their voices they explore ballads, shanties and seafaring songs that tell tales of whaling ships, lost loves, roaring storms and hardship out at sea. ... more

contact / help

Contact The Ballina Whalers

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code